A Personal History of the British Record Business 13 – Colin Burn 5

These periodic delays in posting are down to one hobby interrupting another! One of my bi-monthly auctions finished a week ago and then it’s non-stop creating invoices, packing parcels etc. So no, haven’t ground to a halt again…yet!

Good news is that, courtesy a Facebook page for folk who worked at EMI in the 1970’s I have found photos of Colin to ‘steal” and show.IMG_0309

Here’s Colin on the left, by his favourite chair occupied by what looks like Don Black but probably isn’t – and I’ve no idea who the guy is standing behind!

IMG_0308

And here’s Colin on the far right with what looks like the Motown team about a year before I joined. My pal Bob Fisher is second left, standing, and next to Colin are Barney Ales, Motown’s No.2. man whose story is currently being written by Adam White, and Ken East, whom we’ll get to when we reach ‘E’! Squatting left is Gordon Frewin, Motown’s long-serving label manager who survived three years with me!

Right, back to the story and we left Colin saying that those (Motown) days were fun, so I said…because you were the age you were? Everyone says it’s not fun anymore

I think it was because of the age I was and that allowed me to enjoy what was going on and there was a hell of a lot going on. I was 23 or 24 which was considered very young and you weren’t allowed to make it in the business unless you were 40 or 45, and when I got to be 45 you were no good unless you were 25! But it was a friendly happy atmosphere, everyone had time for everybody else. As you went up the ladder it got a bit more corporate.

You got the feeling no one was brandishing figures at you?

In the early days you didn’t have figures and number, you just did what you had to do and hope that you would win. Luckily I was always on the winning side. Then it changes and you get all the budgets. Capitol had its ups and downs.

It (Capitol) never produced what was expected of it?

We would be there with our artists doing bits and pieces out the front and you’d have a little green room at the back. There was a guy who came to work for us as a plugger called Johnny Francis who was a complete lunatic – worked for Harry Walters doing American repertoire, a complete thug. Example- we’d all be sitting at desks one behind the other, open plan; all you had was your little desk and your phone and that was it. There’d be a playing room with a record player where you could play a record if you wanted to. At Christmas time there’d be a parcel brought up, say from Peter Gormley on behalf of Cliff or Frank Ifield, could be bottles, big glass ashtray, things for Christmas presents. Johnny Francis obviously didn’t get anything because his artists were all American, so he used to go and buy presents, give them to the commissionaire downstairs and tell him ‘can you wait half an hour and bring them up to me and say ‘These are from Frank Sinatra'” When we were sending in postcards to the Beeb for ‘Two Way Family Favourites’ he thought it would be much easier to take the postcards rather than send them through the post, just leave them on the secretaries’ desks as he went round. The only problem was they wouldn’t be franked, so he went to a post office and nicked a franking machine! He was that kind of a guy. One days he said to me ‘I do fancy that Edna Bowers – she’s got such big tits’. I said ‘well believe me, I’ve been around – all you need to do is to go up to her and say ‘I think you’ve got the biggest tits I’ve seen and I fancy you like mad and I’d really like to grab hold of them’, and that will turn her on – she likes it upfront like that. In the green room having a drink, she said ‘what’s all this you’ve been saying to Johnny Francis about my tits?’ Oh my God! Obviously from that moment she didn’t like me. Ken (East, who may or may not have been husband by this time – someone will tell me!) was working in International and on his way going back to Australia on a boat when he was told he was needed here. I then heard the news that he had been taken off the boat and thought ‘Oh my God, that’s going to be the end of me’ So he came in and we had this terrible time, but he didn’t like Ron White and he didn’t like Roy Featherstone either. He didn’t like any of us. He had to put up with me because for the first time I was actually doing a bloody good job, took me a few years to get it together. At every turn you knew Ken was trying to find a reason to get you out or not like you. Every Christmas he’d have a party at his house and I always got an invite – he couldn’t not because he would invite Roy Featherstone and Ron White – we were a trio. Ron was General Manager, Roy was Marketing Manager and I was Promotion Manager- we were the terrible trio.

Then Gerry Oord came in and he was worse! He started this thing – International Artists Promotion (IAP) from Duke Street. He had all these people coming over from Europe because he wanted to use his own printing works to do centralised printing on visiting artists like Anne Murray.’It will be much better if we do this work from Holland; It’s cheaper and we can do it for everybody.’ He had this huge campaign plan for Anne Murray throughout the whole of Europe – he’d done the posters, the streamers, the leaflets, the window stickers, half a million of each (you’d overprint the relevant catalogue numbers for your country). He held them up in front of the various General Managers and said ‘any questions?’ and someone said ‘Yes Gerry, you’ve spelt her name wrong.’ And he’d spelt her name wrong on all these millions of posters. ‘It’s no problem, we’ll get them fixed.’ Six months later he was Managing Director! That was the end of Ron White; he couldn’t be there if Gerry Oord was Managing Director – really, Ron White should have been Managing Director – so they pushed him off to publishing. Ron White came to me and said ‘watch your back very carefully because Gerry Oord is after you.’ I’d had a few run-ins before because they had all these crap Dutch acts like The Cats that they insisted we released over here, which we didn’t want to do, and instead we spent a lot of money promoting them and they didn’t sell anything. If you didn’t release them you were in trouble and if you did you were in trouble because they didn’t sell.

That seems to have been an extraordinary over-spend period, the Gerry Oord period; from the flamboyance of the offices, and why wasn’t he sussed that he was arranging the marketing to benefit his printing company?

It was John Reid’s time, wasn’t it? John was a star f*cker. Anybody who was a star – he just loved them. He was the reason that EMI went down the tubes because of the brain scanner…but that’s another story! He supported Gerry Oord; Gerry was a very flamboyant man and was able to impress John Reid. He involved John Reid in all the things he did and invited him round to dinner with Glen Campbell or whoever. John Reid didn’t know any better and he just allowed Gerry to go on and on and on. Gerry was a very wealthy man anyway – we bought the Dutch company from him for a lot of money.

u404-MCallas120759linkstoenmechtgBattistaMeneghinirechtsGerOord.jpg

Gerry Oord (right) with Maria Callas, probably on the steps of Abbey Road studios

To be continued

Text © David Hughes, 2015

About dhvinyl

Lifelong obsession with music, 33 years in the music business, 43 years immersed in selling old records, 26 years very happily retired!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Personal History of the British Record Business 13 – Colin Burn 5

  1. —–fascinating – and rapidly approaching the time when I, Jennie and Moira Bellas came in – the Top Pops office was in Bentinck Street – about 100 yards away from Manchester Square and I recall Moira contrived to get me and my staff passes for the staff canteen where one could get a very cheap nosh!

    Like

  2. dhvinyl says:

    There was certainly no canteen by the time I got to Manchester Square in 1980!

    Like

  3. Hi David,

    My name is Freddy Cannon, I initially was hired by EMI Italiana in Rome,I then was transferred to Harvest Records in March 1977 to take over from Mark Rye. I reported to David Munn’s and Paul Watts. I brought La Belle Epoche, from Italy and had a number 2 record in the chart with Black is Black and than was promoted in Jan to Commercial Director of A&R awaiting Nick Mobbs departure. I for a short period reported to Bob Mercer and than Ramon Lopez. After a string of hits I resigned in June of 1978. I started Carrere Records UK in July 1978.

    I found your information intriguing and interesting.

    Like

    • dhvinyl says:

      Freddy…your name is very familiar to me, and not just in connection with Carrere! You left to form the label just a week or two before I joined in 1978. Via Alexis Rotelli my division of EMI did have a big UK hit with Baltimora’s “Tarzan Boy”, but that was my only Italian connection! Delighted you are enjoying the posts. Many more to come.

      Like

  4. John Pattrick says:

    I read Colin’s comments with some amusement about Gerry Oord’s IAP (International Artist Promotion Office) which operated out of Duke Street. I had already spent three years (1969-72) at Bovema-EMI in Haarlem when Gerry asked if I would like to return to London together with Roel Kruize to help run it. Ian McClintock joined us in Duke Street and Allen Davies (Capitol) who wanted to transfer to London (he was mad about art galleries) then came in to manage it a little later when Roel retuned to Holland. The main point of the office was to give added promotion to Capitol artists in Europe who they felt were sidelined by local signings. Gerry always maintained a close contact with Capitol executives and I remember Lloyd Dunn and others coming to Bovema every year. So we started with Rick Springfield, Anne Murray and Helen Reddy but then Wings, Barclay James Harvest (who, incidentally sent my wife and myself a fantastic gift on our wedding day in 1973), Paul Jones and if I remember correctly, Pink Floyd. It was a strange set-up because, as you could imagine, the political problems in dealing with EMI’s operating companies were hard going and Colin’s scathing outbursts were probably typical. I don’t remember the incident involving Anne Murray but I can easily visualize Colin, Paul Watts and Roy Featherstone having a real go at Gerry. In fact Allen Davies was the perfect diplomat after Gerry had left the scene and smoothed things over a bit. I left to head up EMI Record’s Classical Division in 1975 following on the retirement of John Whittle.
    Just out of interest and to illustrate how some parts of EMI were in the mid to late 1960’s, in 1967 I was working with the International Division run by Bill Stanford and Oscar Hamilton down at Hayes. One day I was asked to come to Bill’s office to meet Jacques Bevierre (EMI’s Middle East director). Jacques was French, incredibly smooth and well turned out but one aspect I shall never forget was that he wore a pair of immaculate white spats! The job was to go to EMI Lebanon which I turned down as I had already agreed with Gerry Oord to go to Holland providing I spent a year with EMI Record’s sales force which I did in 1968. A great year spent selling in London. That was Gerry, first and foremost, a salesman.

    Like

  5. Gems Dean says:

    Colin Burn drove me to work in the west end every day. I loved going up to his office in the evening for my lift home, I’d love to sit in his wicker chair and most of all was on Sunday when he cooked the family the BEST roast beef rib and cauli-cheese. I’d lived with the Burns ‘78-79 and accidentally bumped into Colin again at a boardroom drinks party at Liberty United, Mortimer Street. “Hello babe, what the fuck are you doing here!” People in the room looked surprised too….

    Like

  6. dhvinyl says:

    Colin was a real enigma. Her and forged a real bond during those few months in Mortimer Street, especially his tales of letting himself into Alan Kaupe’s office when we were in Thayer Street and copying all his aide memoirs!! Colin was a very keen gardener so I guess it’s no surprise he was a good cook too. He always looked years younger than his actual age so his death was a very unhappy surprise.

    Like

  7. Gems Dean says:

    I loved reading your interview with Colin. He was like a father to me. I too loved his deadpan humour, and among his friends were The Mayor Of Piddley, Nick Mason, Eleanor and Gerry Bronn, and Martin Chivvers.

    Like

  8. Gems Dean says:

    Oh, just an after thought …The ‘guy standing behind’ could that be Michael Aspel?

    Like

  9. dhvinyl says:

    Looks a bit like him as a young man, but don’t think it is. It is definitely Colin though !

    Like

  10. Chris Black says:

    Hi David,
    I first met Colin in 1976. I was hired as the Marketing Assistant to Terry Walker ,Marketing Manager for LRD on Thayer St.. It was my second job for EMI . My first job in the UK was at the Distribution and Manufacturing centre e.g. ‘The Factory’ in Hayes in 1975 . I had moved back to the UK from the USA where I grew up in the Sixties .
    My office was near to Colin so I witnessed his interaction with those around him He was a warm and a generous man giving advice where needed and treating everyone as an equal. His relaxed manner was a definite plus helping this nervous ‘Yank’ acclimatize to working in England. David Rose and I were at the same conference as I to remember Colin’s slide presentation .
    In the first 6 months of my new job there seemed to be a lot of personnel changes. People seemed to come and go with some frequency .
    When I started in 1976 there were Robbie Dennis -Label Mgr for Purple Records, Hugh Rees- Parnell -Label Manager, Assorted Labels inc MAM ( Gilbert O’Sullivan),Jack Stewart Grayson -Advertising Mgr., Keith Peacock – Label Manager, Barry Humphries – Label Mgr.- Rocket Records,
    Bernie Kilmartin & Phil Presky – Label Press & Publicity, Julian ? ? General Mgr Motown Records. Gordon Frewin – Label Mgr Motown Records – Bob Fisher Press & Publicity Motown Records, Keith Harris Promotions ? Motown
    John Cavanaugh & Brian Berg – Commercial Marketing (EMTV),
    Roy Featherstone & Stuart Watson MCA Records
    When 1977 rolled around Barry had left to go to CBS Records, There was a new General Manager for Motown Records – Alan Fitter. Hugh had left for a job I think in advertising ,David was promoted to Island Label Mgr, Jack was promoted Label Mgr MAM Records etc and I was promoted to Advertising Mgr. .
    Soon after Alan Kaupe arrived on the scene and the atmosphere in the office slowly changed. It didn’t help matters that the record business as a whole was in a slump and that a lot of the LRD labels were looking for new homes.
    I left LRD at the end of 1977 and moved over to Manchester Square. By 1979 I and many others were let go as a result of the business downturn. By this time LRD had been shut down .
    I saw Colin a few years later when he was running the Rolling Stones office. He was still the man I remembered , funny & sarcastic but with a charm . I am glad I knew him.

    Chris Black

    FYI – The person behind the wicker chair in the photo with Colin and Don Black is Jack Stewart Grayson.

    Like

    • dhvinyl says:

      We just missed each other. I joined, presumably replacing Alan Fitter, in July 1978. Bob Fisher was running Stax and Fantasy, and it was he who had tipped me off about the Motown job, me having applied in 1977 and never received even an interview invite, (the following year Bob told me it was being dealt with by a head hunter and I got the interview on the last afternoon before they made the decision!!) David Rose looked after Island (with Knocker Knowles I seem to remember.) Keith Harris was pretty much forced out by Barney Ales, Motown’s No. 2 to Berry Gordy in America, but Les Spaine remained. I remember Robbie Dennis; Keith Peacock I primarily knew as the head of sleeve design and advertising. Gordon Frewin was with me through the last three years of Motown’s EMI licence. LRD in Thayer Street closed in 1980 and together with only RAK I think, Motown moved to UA, and then on the Manchester Square. When the licence ended in 1981 I had four mlore jobs and ultimately Brook Green, from where I retired in 1998. Good to have made contact with you. It was at UA that Colin and I became firm friends. We both called Alan Kaupe “Can’t”!!

      Like

Leave a comment