ELVIS 1956 Remembered

I’m of an age when I wake up frequently, and early, catching radio programmes I never previously knew existed. News Briefing at 5.30am is now an old friend, though most of its content is lost in fog. However, this morning I reacted to the news that on this day in 1956, Elvis Presley’s first movie “Love me Tender” was released. 56 years vanished in a trice and I was back in the Maidstone Granada in the days when you could go in at lunchtime, whatever time the films started (bear in mind that in those days every main film had a support act – so you got three hours of entertainment anyway for your 9 old pennies) and could sit right through till God Save the Queen at 10.30. I can’t tell you I did that for “Love me Tender” though I know I saw it more than once, bought the EP, marvelled at our new hero as the country backwoods boy it seems he had been in real life and singing four songs to Debra Paget was it?

 

We’re gonna Move was my favourite and you can  see it via this You Tube link Here’s Elvis before the army, before the black dye, and before Las Vegas. No wonder we all worshipped him.

 

 

About dhvinyl

Lifelong obsession with music, 33 years in the music business, 40 years immersed in selling old records, 18 years retired!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

