Collecting vinyl the Collector’s Vinyl way – Pt.1

Bigger Boss

Another auction just concluded today – the 254th since I started the whole thing by accident back in 1976. Along the way I guess I’ve learned a lot about the value of old records, but every list brings surprises. Recently the big money seems to be going to original release reggae singles on those small independent label that sprung up in North West London in the late 1960’s. The key with these is to find one in unplayed condition. Thanks to my friendships with so many journalists and record  company folk over the last 40 years, I’ve hit upon some wonderful stuff, never played by the owners and hugely sought after by collectors. And in an  auction of course, it only takes two bidders to rocket up the price. Top price in the auction that closed at midday today was by Ansell Collins – called ‘Bigger Boss.’ Or, for all I know it might be the B-side by the Ethiopians – ‘My Girl’ that was the more collectable. Anyway it’s on the UK Duke label and it went for £105. I hope the buyer will be pleased. I sure as heck know the seller will be, and I’m happy too! Click the Bigger Boss at the top for a sixty second sample of this rare record.

About dhvinyl

Lifelong obsession with music, 33 years in the music business, 40 years immersed in selling old records, 18 years retired!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

